“Investment in professional qualifications should be encouraged, especially as South Africa is in dire need of certain skillsets to help drive meaningful economic development,” says Phomolo Dube, Chief Executive of Sanlam’s Closed Book business.


This is one of the reasons why Sanlam is proud to sponsor the annual South African Professional Services Awards, which recognises outstanding performance and excellence among graduate professionals and professional firms


Finalists in the various categories have just been announced in what the judges describe as a “fierce competition”.


KC Rottok, project manager of the Awards, confirms there has been an increase in both the quality and quantity of entries submitted to the judges this year.

“This is the second time we are hosting the competition that draws together all firms and individuals within the South African professional services industry. Following the publicity the awards received from the inaugural event, there has been a better understanding of the process and an increase in entries with close to a hundred submissions presented to the judges in September,” says Rottok.

The awards comprise of two categories; the built environment category and the commerce, law and management category. Firms are judged based on seven criteria namely business growth, customer service, transformation record, technical excellence, contribution to the community, contribution to their profession and their commitment to ethics and professionalism.

There are also awards for individual professionals in each category with the main award being the South African Professional of the year. The individuals were judged on a host of attributes including leadership qualities, innovation within the bounds of available resources, notable career achievements, concrete future objectives, embracing lessons from challenges, breaking of new ground, taking of risks and changing paradigms, standing out among peers and making a difference.


Winners of each award will be announced at a Gala Dinner to be held at the Montecasino Ballroom on 3rd November 2016.


The full list of finalists is as follows:


Built Environment Category


Firm of the year – Engineering


Gibb, Nyeleti, SNA, Worley Parsons and WSP Parsons Brinckerhoff.


Firm of the year – Quantity surveyors and project managers


Akweni, BTKM, Turner and Townsend, RLB Pentad, Talani and NNAQS.


Firm of the year – Architecture


Paragon, GLH and GAPP.


Professional of the year – Engineering


Ian Beaumont (WSP Parsons Brinckerhoff), Welekazi Cele (Hatch) and Abe Thela (Nyeleti)


Professional of the year – Quantity surveyors


Leon Cronje (RLB Pentad), Ian Donaldson (Turner and Townsend) and Nonku Ntshona (NNAQS).


Professional of the year – Architects


Anthony Orelowitz (Paragon), Xavier Huyberechts (GLH) and Kelly Kalumba (Louis Karol)


Young Professional of the year


Zanele Sithole (RLB Pentad), Geoff du Toit (Aurecon), Rudolf Le Roux (Arup), Sifiso Dlamini (Golder), Daniel Smit (Bigen Africa) and Michelle McGarry (Bigen Africa)



Lifetime Achievement Award recipients

Phill Mashabane (Mashabane Rose Architects) and Hashim Bham (BTKM Quantity Surveyors)

Commerce Law and Management Category

Firm of the year – Law

Webber Wentzel, Norton Rose Fulbright, Werksmans, Hogan Lovells and Bowmans.

Firm of the year – Big 4 Accounting

EY, KPMG, PWC and Deloitte.

Firm of the year – Non Big 4 Accounting

Nexia SAB&T, RSM, Nkonki, SNG and Grant Thornton.

Firm of the year – Consulting

Lexis Nexis, Accenture, Pamoja Capital, Africa Business Group and Letsema.

Professional of the year – Law

Sally Hutton (Webber Wentzel), Jeremy Botha (Werksmans), Alan Keep (Bowmans) and Brent Williams (CDH)

Professional of the year – Big 4 Accounting

Trevor Hoole (KPMG), Dion Shango (PWC) and Ebrahim Dhorat (EY).

Professional of the year – Non Big 4 Accounting

Sindi Zilwa (Nkonki), Victor Sekese (SNG) and Bashier Adam (Nexia SAB&T)

Professional of the year – Consulting

William Mzimba (Accenture), Charles Mwaura (Pamoja Capital) and Derek Thomas (Letsema Consulting)

Young Professional of the year

Martin Mudau (Harvest), Annja Louca (Anlo), Graeme Marais (Blue Recruiting), Tumi Hlongwane (Mohau Capital), Stuart van der Veen (Paper Plane) and Louw Barnardt (Outsourced CFO)

Lifetime Achievement Award recipients

Suresh Kana (PWC), Trevor Brown (Deloitte), Lavery Modise (Hogan Lovells) and Michael Katz (ENSafrica)