Professionals from various organisations gathered at a gala dinner in Montecasino Ball Room on the evening of 14 March 2019 to honour the best amongst them. The South African Professional Services Awards sponsored by Sanlam were being hosted for the fourth time after a rigorous process of determining winners through strict criteria.

Bob Van Bebber of Boogertman + Partners was crowned SA’s Best Professional while EY took home the Best Professional Services Firm Award. There were winners in different fields drawn from two main categories namely the built environment and commerce law and management.

“These awards are important as they give visibility to disciplines that are desperately needed in this country. They also reward entities for performing well in important areas such as transformation, customer service, contribution to the community and commitment to ethical best practice,” said Sipho Mncwabe, Regional General Manager – Sanlam Gauteng Region.

Janette Minnaar, the chair of the adjudication panel explained how the winners were determined.

“They were judged based on a host of attributes including demonstration of leadership skills, changing of paradigms and innovation within the bounds of available resources. We also conferred a number of Lifetime Achievement Awards to deserving recipients who had served their professions faithfully for many years,” said Minnaar.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Engineering firm of the year – WSP

Construction sector firm of the year – Turner and Townsend

Architecture firm of the year – Boogertman + Partners

Engineering professional of the year – Eduard Vorser (Aurecon)

Construction sector professional of the year – Eben Saayman (DNA)

Architecture professional of the year – Bob Van Bebber (Boogertman)

Engineering young professional of the year – Jeshika Ramchund (Bosch)

Construction young professional of the year – Shershen Naidoo (Bentel)

Law firm of the year – Werksmans

Big 4 firm of the year – EY

Accounting firm of the year – SNG Grant Thornton

Consulting firm of the year – Bosch Capital

Consulting/management professional of the year – Zizipho Nyanga (Masisizane)

Law professional of the year – Morne van der Merwe (Baker Mckenzie)

Big 4 professional of the year – Thiru Pillay (Deloitte)

Accounting professional of the year – Bashier Adam (Nexia SAB&T)

Woman professional of the year – Ziyanda Ntshona (Webber Wentzel)

Commerce, Law and Management young professional of the year – Lyle Malander (Malander Inc)

Digital Industry Firm of the Year – Adapt IT

Digital Industry Professional of the Year – Brian Richardson (Wizzit)

Lifetime Achievement Awards  

Penuell Maduna (Bowmans), David Hertz (Werksmans), Hein Boegman (PWC), Clifford Livingstone (PKF Octagon), Wilfred Ngubane (Ngubane & Co), Isaac Shongwe (Letsema), David Green (Proafrica) Charles Israelite (SIPP) Peter Rich (Peter Rich Architects)

Special commendations

Pierre Olivier (Hatch Africa), Aaron Mthimunye (SNG Grant Thornton) Siphosetu Plata (Akweni) Ayisha Ramasike (Nexia SAB&T) Guy Steenekamp (LYT Architecture) Keith Skinner (Turner and Townsend) and Valter Adao (Deloitte)