Advocate Thandi Orleyn, one of the founders of women-owned investment company Peotona, has been granted a Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Management. The accolade was granted by the SA Professional Services Awards sponsored by Sanlam and W. Consulting.

Professionals from various organisations were set to gather at a gala dinner in Montecasino Ball Room on the evening of 19 March 2020 to honour the best amongst them. However, due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the SAPSA Awards were indefinitely postponed. The organisers of the event have subsequently undertaken to progressively announce the winners for the 2019/2020 edition prior to hosting a gathering for all finalists and guests. This marks the fifth edition of the Awards following a rigorous process of determining winners through strict criteria.

Janette Minnaar, the chair of the adjudication panel explained how the winners were determined.

“Individuals were judged based on a host of attributes including demonstration of leadership skills, changing of paradigms and innovation within the bounds of available resources. We also conferred a number of Lifetime Achievement Awards to deserving recipients who had served their professions faithfully for many years,” said Minnaar.

The firm awards were based on the following criteria – business growth, customer service, technical excellence, contribution to the community, contribution to the profession, transformation record and commitment to ethics and professionalism. The criteria were not equally weighted, a strong showing in one category was sufficient to put the firm above the rest.

Advocate Orleyn is engaged in various investee companies and community initiatives including chairing the Legal Resources Trust, The De Beers Foundation, the Zenex Foundation and acting as a Trustee of the South African National AIDS Council (SANAC) Trust.

She chairs the Board of BP Southern Africa, Lafarge Industries and Mining South Africa, and Tokiso Dispute Settlement. She is a non-Executive Director on the Boards of Toyota South Africa, Toyota Financial Services (South Africa) Ltd, Reunert Ltd, Ceramic Industries Ltd, De Beers Consolidated Mines and the IDC.

She was previously a non-Executive Director of the South African Reserve Bank.

Watch Thandi Orleyn’s acceptance speech below: