“Celebrating individuals and professionals within the vital professional services industry is important to encourage their continued participation in driving South Africa’s economic development” says Trurman Zuma, Chief Executive of Sanlam Recurring Savings.


This is one of the reasons why Sanlam is proud to sponsor the annual South African Professional Services Awards, which recognises outstanding performance and excellence among graduate professionals and professional firms.


Finalists in the various categories have just been announced in what the judges describe as a “fierce competition”.


KC Rottok Chesaina, founder of the Awards, confirms there has been an increase in both the quality and quantity of entries submitted to the judges in this third edition.

“This is the third time we are hosting the competition that draws together all firms and individuals within the South African professional services industry. Following the publicity the awards has received in its first two editions, there has been a better understanding of the process and an increase in entries. We are seeing significant growth in participation from various industry players,” says Rottok.

The awards comprise of two categories; the built environment category and the commerce, law and management category. Firms are judged based on seven criteria namely business growth, customer service, transformation record, technical excellence, contribution to the community, contribution to their profession and their commitment to ethics and professionalism.

There are also awards for individual professionals in each category with the main award being the South African Professional of the year. The individuals were judged on a host of attributes including leadership qualities, innovation within the bounds of available resources, notable career achievements, concrete future objectives, embracing lessons from challenges, breaking of new ground, taking of risks and changing paradigms, standing out among peers and making a difference.


Winners of each award will be announced at a Gala Dinner to be held at the Montecasino Ballroom on 1 February 2018.


The full list of finalists is as follows:


Built Environment Category


Firm of the year – Engineering


Nyeleti, SNA, Aurecon, Bosch Holdings, Bigen Africa, ITS and WSP.


Firm of the year – Construction consulting


Akweni, MMQS, PD Consulting, KM Developers, Inyatsi and NNAQS.


Firm of the year – Architecture


Paragon, GLH, Boogertman + Partners and Nico van der Meulen.


Professional of the year – Engineering


Mathieu Du Plooy (WSP), Welekazi Cele (Hatch) and Lynne Pretorius (ITS)


Professional of the year – Construction consulting


Eric Manchidi (PD Consulting), Arcilia Mothae (KM Developers), Tommy Strydom (Inyatsi), Anthony Afordofe (Akweni) and Nonku Ntshona (NNAQS).


Professional of the year – Architects


Henning Rasmuss (Paragon), Elene Olwagen (Boogertman + Partners) and Fanuel Motsepe (Motsepe Architects)


Young Professional of the year


Louis De Waal (Bosch), Jabulile Msiza (Jones&Wagener) and Gabrielle Wotjowitz (Aurecon)



Lifetime Achievement Award recipients

Pierre Lombart (GLH), Nico Van Der Meulen (Nico Van Der Meulen), Dr. Pine Pienaar (Nyeleti), Dr. Snowy Khoza (Bigen Africa) and Dr. Peter Day (Jones&Wagener)

Commerce Law and Management Category

Firm of the year – Law

Webber Wentzel, Norton Rose Fulbright, Werksmans and Bowmans.

Firm of the year – Big 4

EY and PWC.

Firm of the year – Accounting

Nexia SAB&T, Sekela Xabiso, SNG and Grant Thornton.

Firm of the year – Consulting

W Consulting, Econometrix, Agizo and Africa Business Group

Professional of the year – Law

Sally Hutton (Webber Wentzel), Riza Moosa (Norton Rose Fulbright), Safiyya Patel (Webber Wentzel) and Ashley Hale (Bowmans)

Professional of the year – Big 4

Ahmed Jaffer (KPMG), Azim Omar (EY), Luyanda Mngandi (PWC) and Shirley Machaba (PWC)

Professional of the year – Accounting

Lindani Dhlamini (Sekela Xabiso), Paul Badrick (Grant Thornton), Peter Goss (SNG), Ndumi Medupe (Nexia SAB&T) and Bashier Adam (Nexia SAB&T)

Professional of the year – Consulting

Ebrahim Goga (Bain), Matheri Kangethe (Agizo) and Tapiwa Njikizana (W Consulting)

Young Professional of the year

Logamal Ramiah (Netsurit), Averen Deonanan (Allen and Overy LLP), Lyle Malander (Malander Inc), James Wilkinson (Distell), Lian Kretzschmar (Jaguar), Rivalani Ntuli (MNB), Clifford Mack (Nedbank Insurance) and Ayanda Kanana (City of Joburg)

Lifetime Achievement Award recipients

Philip Hourquebie (EY/Investec), Mzi Nkonki (Nkonki Inc), Azar Jammine (Econometrix) and Prof. Edward Kieswetter (Alexander Forbes/Da Vinci)