“South Africa needs it’s professionals to contribute towards economic growth and resolving challenges we face.  Celebrating individuals who lead and showcase excellence is important to encourage participation of the professionals as well as the next generation”, says Kenosi Magosha, Head: Client Solutions of Sanlam Recurring Savings.

This is one of the reasons why Sanlam is proud to sponsor the annual South African Professional Services Awards, which recognises outstanding performance and excellence among graduate professionals and professional firms.

Finalists in the various categories have just been announced in what the judges describe as a “fierce competition”.

KC Rottok Chesaina, founder of the Awards, confirms there has been an increase in both the quality and quantity of entries submitted to the judges in this fourth edition.

“We are excited to introduce the Information Technology professionals awards this year. This is the fourth time we are hosting the competition that draws together all firms and individuals within the South African professional services industry. Following the publicity the awards has received in its first three editions, there has been a better understanding of the process and an increase in entries. We are seeing significant growth in participation from various industry players,” says Rottok.

The awards comprise of two categories; the built environment category and the commerce, law and management category. Firms are judged based on seven criteria namely business growth, customer service, transformation record, technical excellence, contribution to the community, contribution to their profession and their commitment to ethics and professionalism.

There are also awards for individual professionals in each category with the main award being the South African Professional of the year. The individuals were judged on a host of attributes including leadership qualities, innovation within the bounds of available resources, notable career achievements, concrete future objectives, embracing lessons from challenges, breaking of new ground, taking of risks and changing paradigms, standing out among peers and making a difference.

Winners of each award will be announced at a Gala Dinner to be held at the Montecasino Ballroom on 14 March 2019.

The full list of finalists is as follows:

Built Environment Category


Firm of the year – Engineering


SNA, Aurecon, Bosch Projects, Hatch and WSP.

Firm of the year – Construction consulting


Akweni, SIP Project Managers, Enza Construction, Kaytech, DNA and Turner and Townsend

Firm of the year – Architecture


Paragon, Lyt Architecture, Boogertman + Partners, Bentel Associates, Peter Rich Architects and Nico van der Meulen.

Professional of the year – Engineering


Vishaal Lutchman (WSP), Eduard Vorster (Aurecon) and Pierre Olivier (Hatch)

Professional of the year – Construction consulting


Eben Saayman (DNA), Rowan Crowie (Enza Construction), Keith Skinner (Turner and Townsend) and Noluthando Molao (Turner and Townsend)

Professional of the year – Architects


Thulani Sibande (Paragon), Bob van Bebber (Boogertman + Partners), Guy Steenekamp (LYT) and Cornus Strydom (Bentel)

Engineering Young Professional of the year


Jeshika Ramchund (Bosch), Jabulile Nhlapo (WSP) and Vishan Ramnarian (WSP)

Construction Sector Young Professional of the Year

Siphosetu Plata (Akweni), Shershen Naidoo (Bentel) Raphael Baiden (Turner and Townsend) and Daksha Govind (Turner and Townsend)

Lifetime Achievement Award recipients

Peter Rich (Peter Rich Architects), Charles Israelite (SIP Project Managers) and David Green (ProAfrica Property Services)

Commerce Law and Management Category

Firm of the year – Law

Webber Wentzel, Baker & Mckenzie, Werksmans and Bowmans.

Firm of the year – Big 4

EY, Deloitte and PWC.

Firm of the year – Accounting

Nexia SAB&T, PKF Octagon, SNG GT and Ngubane.

Firm of the year – Consulting

Deloitte, DIDG, Bosch Capital, Letsema, Malander Inc and Peter Goss (Pty) Ltd

Firm of the year – Information Technology

Wizzit, EOH, Adapt IT, Sqwidnet and Innovent

Professional of the year – Law

Ziyanda Ntshona (Webber Wentzel), Morne van der Merwe (Baker & Mckenzie) and Ashley Hale (Bowmans)

Professional of the year – Big 4

Thiru Pillay (Deloitte) Ajen Sita (EY) and Valter Adao (Deloitte)

Professional of the year – Accounting

Ayisha Ramasike (Nexia SAB&T), Aaron Mthimunye (SNG GT) and Bashier Adam (Nexia SAB&T)

Professional of the year – Consulting

Thiru Pillay (Deloitte), Donovan Chimhandamba (DIDG), Chris Baloyi (Bosch Capital), Zakhe Khuzwayo (Innovent) Peter Goss (PG) and Zizipho Nyanga (Masisizane)

Professional of the year – Information Technology

Rob Godlonton (EOH), Phatizwe Malinga (Sqwidnet), Jodi Joseph (Adapt IT), Valter Adao (Deloitte) and Brian Richardson (WIZZIT)

Young Professional of the year

Lyle Malander (Malander Inc), Damian Judge (Kaytech) and Rivalani Ntuli (MNB)

Lifetime Achievement Award recipients

Clifford Livingstone (PKF Octagon), Hein Boegman (PWC) Wilfred Ngubane (Ngubane Inc), Isaac Shongwe (Letsema) and David Hertz (Werksmans)


For further information, contact the Secretariat:
Tel – 067 044 5225
Email – info@africanpro.co.za